How to Obtain an Oklahoma Handgun License (Concealed Carry License)

This is a summary of the process for your convenience. Our SDA Handgun License Course covers the first two steps.

STEP #1: Read and become knowledgeable of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act.

STEP #2: Complete the required firearms safety and training course. CLEET training and military qualification may make certain applicants exempt from the shooting portion of this training course.

STEP #3: Apply online or download and complete a paper application. Applications are also available at sheriffs’ offices or by emailing OSBI at sda@osbi.ok.gov.

STEP #4: If applying online, upload a color photo to OSBI or attach two printed color, passport style, photographs to the paper application. You may have your picture taken and printed at most retail stores with a photo lab.

STEP #5: Print and take the online summary sheet or completed paper application, photographs, and required fees to the Sheriff’s Office in the county you live. A money order or cashier’s check in the amount of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) made payable to the sheriff covers the fee for fingerprinting and local agency criminal history record checks conducted by the Sheriff’s Office. $100 for a five (5) year license or $200 for a ten (10) year license may be paid to OSBI at the Sheriff's Office in: Money Order, Cashier’s Check, Electronic Funds Transfer, Visa, MasterCard, American Express and Discover. NO PERSONAL CHECKS, BUSINESS CHECKS, OR CASH WILL BE ACCEPTED.

The information below represents fees to be paid to the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation.

 Initial Application

 5 Year License $100 10 Year License $200
 Renewal Application

 5 Year License $85 10 Year License $170
 Expired Renewal Application
(License expired less than 3 years)
 5 Year License $85 10 Year License $170
 Expired Renewal Application
(License expired more than 3 years)
 5 Year License $100 10 Year License $200

For a compete expanded list of instructions, visit the OSBI Handgun Licensing Webpage.